Skip navigation

I’m back home in Portland and wrapping up Grand Prix Las Vegas.

I really can’t describe what it was like. Most GP’s start slow on Wednesday with set up and receiving product. Thursday we get the space into shape, deal with the internet issues (there are always internet issues). Greet the artist and vendors and then everyone sets up Friday AM.  Speaking of Friday, Friday is usually our easy day, not the 2786 player event that the mini master turned out to be.

This event, just didn’t fit the usual timeline. Add on the massive heat and other complications and you have the most complex Magic event in history. If feels like an avalanche that we were just ahead of, just barely able to direct and shape as it emerged.

I was on site, without internet from 6am to midnight or later every day so I didn’t get a chance to answer emails or post here. Once I get the corrupted files fixed, double check the uploads and process the refunds for the people who didn’t make it, then I will write up a longer discussion of the story of the event.

I do know that lots of people have questions about the event. Some of which I can answer. I will try to discuss this in depth.

Tim

Minor factoid – the Friday minimaster alone gave players 232 boxes of Modern Masters.

6 Comments

  1. Did you or anyone you know try to contact the guinness book folks to see about holding the record?

    • I spoke briefly to BDM about it.

      Will need to follow up on that next week.

    • You don’t actually need someone from Guinness there to do it. Contact them through their website and they’ll send you all the info you need about what all is required to prove it. (I held a record at one point and my thing about it was that it was harder prove to Guinness’ standard that you broke the record than breaking the record).

      Hope you get the nice shinny certificate for this!

  2. Few weeks out I fell I most make a comment as a VIP that the VIP artist time should have either been extended or should have been ran on more than just Sunday.

  3. Tim,

    I would gladly pay for VIP benefits without the main event entry for more VIP artist time at future events.

  4. Speaking as one of the VIP Concierge for the event it is clear that we need to reevaluate VIP Artist Access at future events and we are taking a look at different options. This event pushed everything to the limit (including the number of VIPs) and showed areas for improvement. Thanks for the feedback! If you’ve got other comments on how we can create a better VIP experience, feel free to shoot me an email at tbaker@cascadegames.com .


Leave a comment